The Seven Principles

The philosophy of Spiritualism is founded upon seven basic principles which were provided through the mediumship of one of Spiritualism’s greatest pioneers, Emma Hardinge Britten. She was inspired in 1871 by the communicating spirit of Robert Owen (the founder of the Co-operative movement).

These Seven Principles, act as guidelines for the development of a personal philosophy on how to live one’s life, and are stated as follows:-

  1. The Fatherhood of God
  2. The Brotherhood of Man
  3. The Communion of Spirits and the Ministry of Angels
  4. The continuous existence of the human soul
  5. Personal responsibility
  6. Compensation and retribution hereafter for all the good and evil deeds done on earth
  7. Eternal progress open to every human soul

The following link takes you to a brief explanation of the above Principles on the Spiritualists' National Union (SNU) website:-

Our Principles explained

The History of the SNU